Travel information Senegal

Senegal, officially the Republic of Senegal, is a country located in West Africa. It is bordered by Mauritania in the north, Mali to the east, Guinea to the southeast, and Guinea-Bissau to the southwest. Senegal also borders the Atlantic Ocean to the west. The capital of Senegal is Dakar, which is the most populous city in the country. Other major cities include Thiès, Kaolack, Ziguinchor, and Saint-Louis.

Senegal is a democratic republic with a population of over 16 million people. The official language is French, although Wolof is widely spoken. Senegal is known for its diverse cultures and vibrant music scene. The country is also home to a wide variety of wildlife, including chimpanzees, lions, and elephants.

Senegal is a popular tourist destination, with many attractions to explore. The old colonial city of Saint-Louis is a UNESCO World Heritage Site, and the Saloum Delta National Park is a great place to observe wildlife. In Dakar, visitors can explore the bustling markets, colonial architecture, and vibrant nightlife. Other popular tourist destinations include the beaches of the Petite Côte, the pink lake of Retba, and the Niokolo-Koba National Park.

Locations in Senegal